What is ISO 45001 standard?

ISO 45001 stands for a regulatory reference which certifies an organization’s occupational health and safety management system.

The ISO 45001 standard can be applied to any type of company, regardless its field of activity or size.

What is the purpose of ISO 45001 standard?

ISO 45001 standard is built on 10 sections, designed to manage all the aspects of the company life and to lead the organization’s processes to the implementation of the occupational health and safety management system.

By following the guidelines of ISO 45001 standard, the organization will be able:

  • To develop a prevention and risk management system complied with the law;
  • To protect one of the most valuable asset, the human capital.

Is ISO 45001 certification mandatory?

The adoption of an occupational health and safety management system is voluntary for the companies.

However, the ISO 45001 certification may help the company prevent the legal and economical issues linked to the risk management failure.

Why obtain ISO 45001 certification?

By following the guidelines of ISO 45001 standard, the organization will be able:

  • To properly comply with the safety at work regulations, considering that in case of non-compliance, the company is exposed to legal issues, both civil and criminal;
  • To get reduction on the annual INAIL prize;
  • To protect itself from economical, legal and traumatic harms caused by a mistaken risk assessment;
  • To achieve a better position in tenders, if allowed by the tender regulations.

How to get ISO 45001 certification?

The certification path consists of 4 stages

Certification Request

All the economic aspects and the auditors’ activities related to the certification process may be agreed at this stage. The finalization of a contract concludes this part. Indeed the process for certification depends on the contract stipulated between the company and the certification body.
Generally, it is valid for three years.

Preliminary Audit (optional and possibly requested by the customer)

It is an initial assessment of the current company’s management system.
The preliminary audit is not involved in the normal process for certification and any possible improvement thus is intended to be nothing but a suggestion and it is not included in the official audit report.

Certification Audit – Stage 1

The audit is held in the company office. In this stage, the auditor gathers all the informations and evaluates the documents referring to the management system that must be certified. The auditor analyses the compulsory and voluntary standards. This is a preparatory step for the second stage of the Certification Audit.

Certification Audit – Stage 2

In this stage, the auditor will ascertain that the company complies with the management system. At the end of this process, the auditor will submit the ISO issue request to the certification body, if a significant nonconformity does not occur.

Want to certify your company to ISO standards?

Get a Certification Audit